Skip to main content

OAR News

OAR takes great pleasure in announcing the recipients of the Lisa Higgins Hussman Scholarship and Schwallie Family Scholarship for 2020. The two scholarships attracted over 600 applicants and the 33 awards total $103,000. With these additional scholarships, OAR has awarded a total financial contribution of more than $1,170,000 to 389 students with autism since the program started in 2007.

Both the Schwallie and Hussman scholarships provide one-time $3,000 awards to students with autism pursuing post-secondary education at a variety of different institutions. The Schwallie Family Scholarships are awarded to students attending four-year and two-year colleges. The Hussman Scholarships are awarded to students attending two-year colleges, vocational/technical schools, job readiness programs, life skills programs, and other transition-related programs.

Thanks to the generosity and support of ONEHOPE Wine, OAR and ONEHOPE were pleased to introduce the first ONEHOPE Awards, $5,000 each, to the one applicant in each scholarship program whose personal story most inspired the respective scholarship committee. The first ONEHOPE Awards went to Alexander Rowan from Tomah, WI, a recipient of the Lisa Higgins Hussman Scholarship, and Samantha Harker from Anaheim, CA, a Schwallie Family Scholarship winner.

To be eligible for one of the scholarships, an applicant must have a confirmed autism diagnosis, be accepted for enrollment in the fall 2020 and spring 2021 semesters, and submit three short personal essays along with an application form and recommendation letter. The selection committees are made up of members of OAR’s board of directors, representatives of the Schwallie and Hussman families, and selected parent volunteers.


2020 Scholarship Recipients
Lisa Higgins Hussman Scholarship
  • Faith Anderson, UCLA Extension/Pathway – Los Angeles, California
  • Maverick Belcher, Colorado State University of Pueblo – Pueblo, Colorado
  • James Cochran, University of Oklahoma – Norman, Oklahoma
  • Patrick Costello, Riverview School – East Sandwich, Massachusetts
  • Lauren Cox, Ancilla College – Donaldson, Indiana
  • Brock Huebner, Hocking College – Nelsonville, Ohio
  • Dylan Imel, Richland Community College – Decatur, Illinois
  • Jayson Jean-Louis, University of Missouri – St. Louis, Missouri
  • Jeremiah Josey, Culinary Institute of America – Hyde Park, New York
  • Josh Karol, College Living Experience – Davie, Florida
  • Alex Luu, Howard Community College – Columbia, Maryland
  • Cassidy Malcolm, First Place – Phoenix, Arizona
  • Alexander May, Coastal Carolina University – Conway, South Carolina
  • Mishaela Pedersen, Indian Hills Community College – Ottumwa, Iowa
  • Dorian Perez, Long Beach Community College – Long Beach, California
  • Michael Potter, Minnesota West Community and Technical College – Jackson, Minnesota
  • Alexander Rowan, Shepherds College – Union Grove, Wisconsin (ONEHOPE winner)
  • Lawrence Sapp, University of Cincinnati – Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Evan Anthony Wallace, University of Iowa REACH Program – Iowa City, Iowa
  • Owen Zellner, Hobart Institute for Welding Technology – Troy, Ohio
Schwallie Family Scholarship
  • Walter Arimokwu, Texas State University – San Marcos, Texas
  • Ara Bakhteyar, Columbia University – New York, New York
  • Drew Cox, Loyola Marymount University – Los Angeles, California
  • Lauren Delfunt, The Ohio State University – Columbus, Ohio
  • Adam Garozzo, Rowan University – Glassboro, New Jersey
  • Brad Greissman, Adelphi University – Garden City, New York
  • Samantha Harker, St. Louis College of Pharmacy – St. Louis, Missouri (ONEHOPE winner)
  • Peter Larrabee, Salt Lake Community College – Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Eli Marken, West Chester University – West Chester, Pennsylvania
  • Jacob Norton, Northern Virginia Community College – Annandale, Virginia
  • Jacob Saari, Lake Superior College – Duluth, Minnesota
  • Carter Talbert, University of North Florida – Jacksonville, Florida
  • Jacob Turner, Elim BIble Institute & College – Lima, New York


Congratulations to each of the 33 recipients!

OAR extends its gratitude to the Lisa Higgins Hussman Foundation, the Schwallie Family Foundation, and ONEHOPE Wine. These scholarships would not be possible without their support. Every year, OAR’s scholarship awards help students with autism pursue their educational goals.  Applications for next year’s scholarship competition will open in December 2020; more information, including the link to the application portal once it opens, can be found on OAR’s Scholarship Page.